Beyond.ca - Car Forums

Home Automotive Forums > Beyond.ca - Car Forums Archive > Car Forums > Automotive Aesthetics / Electronics > Car Care, Detailing and Body Work

Tips on keeping a black car clean - Click HERE for Original Thread

reno97637
It's my first time having a black car and it's seriously tough keeping it clean and scratch free. To those who have black cars, what do you guys use to dry the car, polish, etc.? Any other tips?
rage2
I've owned nothing but black cars for the last 7 years. The secret? It's simple... wash it everyday! :rofl:

Seriously... buy a california duster and dust it everyday. Have it power polished at least once a year. It's a never ending struggle... haha.
sneek
Wash every other day with 2 buckets (both with Grit Guards) Sometimes if I am lazy I use something like UQD and just apply it to fill in some light swirls, but I polish my car quite often with a very very light polish.
97'Scort
Dust for sure, also keep a supply of clean microfibres with something like Meguiar's Quik Detailer for getting the tougher stuff. I recommend using a sealant on your paint (let it cure in the garage for a day or so) then wax. Klasse is pretty good for an all-in-one type solution, or others like Shining Monkey or Meguiar's Pro line also have good stuff.
bennyhanna
Lol

The ONLY way to keep a black car clean ( Ive owned 3) is to Never drive it.

If it looks like Rain, leave the car at home.

Black looks the Best when fully detailed! Just follow what Rage says
riced
you gotta watch your wash and dry method, this causes the most swirls

the dust is never ending though its such a pain, but when black is clean its the most amazing colour.

just a word on the california duster... its a good product, but use it when you have light dust only, light enough that you could blow it off and on a cool car.. the duster is treated with wax and if you use it on a warm/hot car, the wax will rub onto the car and look like crap.