PDA

View Full Version : Importing an E46 from QC?

stefan15
06-17-2010, 08:38 PM
Hey guys.. has anyone ever done this? I'm a noob when it comes to importing cars out-of-province. I think Calgary BMW can do the inspection for $300 but other than that I have no idea.

While I'm at it.. what do you guys think:
http://www.autotrader.ca/used_cars_Car_details/CHARLESBOURG_Quebec_2003_BMW_M3_1621212.html?srcID=5&frnID=7806207&cofid=200448113857706&prv=Quebec&r=30

I believe he has done a bunch of work on it.. not the clutch or cooling system though.

rage2
06-17-2010, 08:47 PM
You can get an OOP done almost anywhere. QC cars are sketchy though.

scat330
06-17-2010, 08:48 PM
OOP inspection can be done at crappy tire for way cheaper.

I thought QC was some state and importing from the states is more work.

Provinces is easy, perhaps jaymez thread for importing from the states thread coul help - minus the states part and what to do when it's in the province.

stefan15
06-18-2010, 06:39 AM
Originally posted by rage2
QC cars are sketchy though.
This was the sort of feedback I was looking for. How come?

benyl
06-18-2010, 07:35 AM
Simple formula.

QC car + cheap price = stay far away.

stefan15
06-18-2010, 07:44 AM
Originally posted by benyl
Simple formula.

QC car + cheap price = stay far away.
Well as for the cheap price.. it isn't that cheap. This seems pretty typical for a 110,000km car. That's not to say I won't take your advice though! Just looking for reasons.

E46s have recently come down in price. I'm thinking they might be cheaper by the winter so I could just wait. Getting tired of my g/f driving me around though. I sold my STi thinking I'd have an E46 the next day. Apparently not so easy to find a decent one. A little TLC is all I ask from my E46 to be.

Neil4Speed
06-18-2010, 07:49 AM
Originally posted by stefan15

This was the sort of feedback I was looking for. How come?

Anyone driven in Montreal knows the roads are shit, but that is the small part of it.