PDA

View Full Version : student status after graduation?

believe
11-30-2012, 01:04 AM
Just wanted to get some input on what you guys think about this situation. if it makes a difference, I am an engineering student looking to get into industry.

I will have completed all my requirements for graduation by the end of this term, so officially, next January I would not be registered as a student with the university. However, my "graduation" would not be until next spring 2013.

I have a friend who was in the same situation, and he had a pretty tough time finding a job after finishing his requirements (looked for employment for about half a year), and it seemed that certain companies weren't really interested in him as he was technically unregistered for a while. Apparently, to register for certain EIT/new grad programs, some companies prefer that you are relatively fresh out of school.

So my question is then, would it be worth it for me to keep myself registered for the next term as well? The downside is that I would have to keep tuition payments, but if that means improving my odds of finding a permanent position, its seems to be a small price to pay.

Thoughts?

Timmeh
11-30-2012, 03:03 AM
I'm not sure if this is the answer you're looking for but can't you request a letter from the dean saying all your requirements for graduation have been fulfilled and that all you're waiting for is the graduation date?

flipstah
11-30-2012, 09:56 AM
Usually, EIT's have to have their degree done when starting their rotation so that you don't waste APEGGA time.

Usually companies don't care when you start if it's after (people I know got EIT offers and postponed till after for either graduation or tripping or whatever).

Why can't you apply for jobs and mention what you just told us? :dunno:

Your situation may be different than your friend.

lasimmon
11-30-2012, 10:17 AM
It's hard to find a job in January because most companies are not hiring EITs then.