PDA

View Full Version : Anyone here at MRU? Access card question

Ctystar
01-08-2013, 09:11 PM
Does anyone know how to get into other departments? Im a business student and would love to access the jounalism building to use their study room especially later during the day or at night. My ID card doesnt let me enter that part of the building unfortunately.. They have nice study rooms that are quiet unlike the library

EG6boi
01-08-2013, 09:18 PM
I don't think you can unless you are registered in a class in that particular department. Even then, sometimes your card still won't work but I'm not sure why.

leftwing
01-08-2013, 09:52 PM
Yeah your access card doesn't really allow you access anywhere. It only works if you are registered in a certain computer lab or what not. It doesn't allow you access to access any room with a swipe pad.

Also, you said your a business student, there is a lot of study room in the business Bissett building. Im assuming you've been on the second floor.

EG6boi
01-08-2013, 10:06 PM
Originally posted by leftwing
Yeah your access card doesn't really allow you access anywhere. It only works if you are registered in a certain computer lab or what not. It doesn't allow you access to access any room with a swipe pad.

Also, you said your a business student, there is a lot of study room in the business Bissett building. Im assuming you've been on the second floor.

What sucks though is after hours because the doors lock on their own, so your access card doesn't even matter in that case. Better have a friend in the computer lab or you're SOL, and have to call security lol.

WithTheLightsOn
01-09-2013, 03:16 AM
When I was at MRU, our trick was to place either folded paper sheets or a dime between the magnetized metal plates that closed the door. That way the doors would still close automatically, but you would just have to pull to open them without problems.

rx7boi
01-09-2013, 08:38 AM
But the library has so much eye candy :love: :love:

leftwing