PDA

View Full Version : Software vs Civil vs Chemical Engineering

veyron
03-24-2013, 08:35 AM
Hi everyone,

I am a first year engineering student, and am facing a big dilemma in choosing my program. :dunno:

I like Software Engineering the most, but based on my research, its pay is very very low (page 30, http://www.apegga.org/pdf/SalarySurvey/VPS2012.pdf). And its the same across Canada. Also heard it takes more than 5 years to build a good portfolio which can open better opportunities.

While I am very good with programming, and enjoy it, I think its too much of a risk. It also sucks that most companies don't care whether I have a computer programming degree or engineering degree.

Now onto Chemical Engineering. Well Alberta has a lot of demands for them. Pay is good, and can earn a fortune if I work hard. Also I enjoyed Engg 201, which is the foundation of chemical engineering.

Lastly Civil Engineering . It has a good pay and is very very stable. Also I would like to work around the globe if possible and big civil companies like Stantecs are everywhere.
I could also work for the federal or provincial government. While unlike software, I don't like studying about civil engineering in my free time, I enjoy it when I am studying it (if that makes much a sense).

I would highly appreciate if I could get your guys input. It doesn't have to be an engineer, any one from any walk of life is more than welcome to give their input. Thanks!

PS: I like Electrical Engineering as well, but the pay is high varied and job isn't very stable most of the time.

PPS: Software engineering starts at ~ $55,000 and stays there for around 4 years, while other engineering starts a bit higher and can go over $80,000 in next 4 years.

kaput
03-24-2013, 08:40 AM

veyron
03-24-2013, 08:45 AM
Originally posted by kaput