PDA

View Full Version : Electrical Engineering technology difficulty

arashdhot
07-17-2013, 10:31 PM
I am starting Electrical Engineering Technology diploma this September at BCIT (Burnaby). What level of difficulty can I expect. I got 87 in Math 12, 83 in chemistry 12 and 80 in physics 12. And how is the job market for electrical technologists these days especially for new guys. Appreciate your answers guys

JordanEG6
07-18-2013, 08:21 AM
I graduated from the SAIT program in 2006. It was apparently one of the hardest courses at SAIT, but I found it to be pretty easy still. Not sure how it is at BCIT, but from what I heard, the SAIT EET course was watered down and made a little easier. You should be fine.

As far as jobs go, it depends where and what field. It's a pretty steady market at the moment, I would say. I'm in O&G, so it's pretty slow this summer, I don't expect alot of hiring for juniors anytime soon in most places, but you're looking at a couple years before even considering that. But when I graduated, most us were able to find jobs within a few weeks.

Matty_10
07-18-2013, 11:39 AM
For jobs talk to BC Hydro tho when I talked to them due to confidential reasons they couldn't tell me a lot, but they do have technologist in training program kinda how the EIT thing is. And I'm also taking EET this September so im no help for how difficult it is.

dirtsniffer
07-18-2013, 11:49 AM
So you'd be a TIT then?

rinny
07-18-2013, 03:03 PM
EET is easy. I mean, many programs are easy, you just have to apply yourself. For SAIT EET, I applied myself when needed and got by just fine.

That being said, you get out of it what you put into it!

And BC Hydro jobs- yea there's plenty for technologists, as a design tech you may just be located in a single place for your time, whereas many field techs get 4 year rotations.

AudiPWR
07-18-2013, 03:07 PM