PDA

View Full Version : Extra year of school and get another degree worth it?

The BMW Guy
02-01-2014, 02:06 AM
So a little background, I'm a Software Engineering student in my 3rd year. I noticed that the Computer Engineering minor under the Electrical Engineering degree has a lot of overlapping courses with the SENG degree stream. I did some planning and I would have to take 9 electrical courses for me to have a double major in SENG and ENEL with an ENCM minor.

Only reason I am thinking of this is that some company job postings seem to state explicitly they are looking for Electrical Engineers. These 9 courses would have me graduate a year later but I would have the Electrical Engineering degree with Computer minor for the rest of my career.

What are your thoughts? Is delaying graduation and losing 1 year of experience worth it to have another degree under your belt? Currently I have a decent portfolio of experience but I have a feeling the ENEL degree would be beneficial down the road.

93VR6
02-01-2014, 02:22 AM
If there are jobs out there that require the second major, I would go for it, it's only a year.

tch7
02-01-2014, 07:09 AM
Once you have a few years of work experience under your belt, employers aren't going to really care much about the specifics of your degree. Therefore if you can't find jobs with just the SENG major, the yes do the double major. If you can find a job with just the SENG major, then you're better served by that extra year of work experience and income.

When I was doing my civil eng degree I was in a position to do an accelerated masters that would've added one more year of school, but I found a job easily enough with just my bachelors. I'm much better off having not done it, as that additional year of experience and income far outweighs the possible benefits of a masters.

Mibz
02-01-2014, 09:43 AM
Originally posted by tch7