PDA

View Full Version : Photo Scammer

Cody D
01-25-2015, 10:04 AM
Edit: I'm a moron who doesn't understand space or photography.

blitz
01-25-2015, 10:16 AM
Care less?

Tik-Tok
01-25-2015, 10:18 AM
I have no real knowledge of celestial bodies, or photography, but....

From the facebook link:

it's actually my local observatories scope so it never moves. But if you're ever in the area let me know.

Wouldn't it be safe to say both photographers used the same observatory?

Cody D
01-25-2015, 10:20 AM
Originally posted by blitz
Care less?

Does it not bug you? Should he not be called out? I thought a group of photographers would care when someones content was being stolen.

Cody D
01-25-2015, 10:23 AM
Originally posted by Tik-Tok
Wouldn't it be safe to say both photographers used the same observatory?

All of the light points match perfectly, maybe I am naive on this but even the angle is identical.

Unknown303
01-25-2015, 10:28 AM
Originally posted by Cody D

Does it not bug you? Should he not be called out? I thought a group of photographers would care when someones content was being stolen.

:werd: Seems strange photographers don't care about possible copyright infringement...

D'z Nutz
01-25-2015, 10:32 AM
Is there even any proof that's the same photograph?

Most things in space haven't and won't move much, certainly not to the degree that we'd ever notice in our lifetime (as in humanity's) so it's not unfathomable that he really did take it. A 16" telescope is pretty big and people have gotten more with smaller equipment.

speedog
You want 'call out' a guy from Des Moines, Iowa? Really?

Honestly, there must be other things going on in your life that need as much attention as it would take to call out this guy, no?

Tik-Tok

All of the light points match perfectly, maybe I am naive on this but even the angle is identical.