PDA

View Full Version : Restaurants in Kensington Area

JRSC00LUDE
08-13-2015, 03:23 PM
Hey guys, where's some top picks for fun/good food/possibly patio atmosphere around Kensington?

Any must go's?

ExtraSlow
08-13-2015, 03:35 PM
container bar.

JRSC00LUDE
08-13-2015, 03:54 PM
What's that place all about ExtraSlow?

ExtraSlow
08-13-2015, 04:02 PM
I'm no expert, too many hipsters down in that part of town. I have a buddy who says it's a nice mix of folks, and a good atmosphere.

CBC review - Containter bar (http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/calgary/cool-calgary-a-bar-in-a-kensington-alley-1.3152290)

mo_money2supe
08-13-2015, 04:23 PM
I work in Kensington and have "frequented" (maybe more than I should) all the local watering holes around the area. Here's a breakdown of all the ones that have patios. There's a number of other pubs around Kensington too but if patio's are in your agenda, then stick to these ones.

Sunny patios on north side of the street:
- Original Joe's (on Kensington Rd NW)
- The Yardhouse (on Kensington Rd NW)
- The Oak Tree Tavern (upstairs patio off 10th St NW)
- Lot 102, FKA Bottle House Pub (on Memorial Dr & 10th St NW)

Less sunny patios on south side of the street:
- Molly Malone's Irish Pub (on Kensington Cres NW)
- Street Side Pub & Grill, FKA Sam's Pub (on Kensington Cres NW)
- Container Bar, as mentioned earlier, which has both a make shift street patio and an "alley" patio (on Kensington Rd)
- Midtown (on 10th ST NW) but is on the east side of the street so you'll have plenty of sunlight in the afternoon/evenings