PDA

View Full Version : Upgrading technologist -> engineer

zieg
09-01-2015, 01:50 PM
All this talk about school as another year starts, figured I'd throw this out there and see what people's thoughts are.

I graduated from BCIT with a diploma in mechanical engineering technology several years ago but I really want my degree. BCIT now offers a B.eng degree and the MET diploma directly counts for the first two years. That seems like the logical way to upgrade but I don't want to leave town (family). Unfortunately SAIT doesn't offer this yet.

So I'm wondering if anyone has been able to upgrade here in town, possibly even while working? Maybe through distance learning, etc? I do know the programs are supposed to be considered full time, not expecting it to be night classes only or anything.. Just want to make sure I'm aware of all my options.

Projek01
09-01-2015, 02:03 PM
Does this B.eng degree qualify for you to get your P.eng title under APEGA?

I looked at the Petroleum B.eng degree at Sait 2 years ago and it was not recognized by APEGA. Seems kind of useless when you cant stamp your work with a degree.

zieg
09-01-2015, 02:21 PM
Yeah, the one from BCIT is.

Cos
09-01-2015, 02:25 PM

sabad66
09-01-2015, 02:44 PM
Not sure about BCIT, but i know SAIT students can transfer directly into an engg degree program at a few diff schools (U of C included).

Take a look at this:
http://www.sait.ca/programs-and-courses/full-time-studies/transfer-options.php

Click macphail school of energy, then choose the diploma (i.e. chem engg technology), then it lists your options. Second one from the bottom is U of C.

killramos
09-01-2015, 02:57 PM
Originally posted by sabad66
Not sure about BCIT, but i know SAIT students can transfer directly into an engg degree program at a few diff schools (U of C included).

Take a look at this:
http://www.sait.ca/programs-and-courses/full-time-studies/transfer-options.php