PDA

View Full Version : Wedding photographer questions

cycosis
11-19-2015, 01:37 PM
Me and the Fiance are working out our plans for a 2017 date and I'd love to hear this group's feelings in regards to fair compensation for a wedding photographer. I'm very much an advocate of "pay your artist fairly" but I have no background experience for this service.

We are looking at Canmore as our destination so are we on the hook for their transportation/accomodation/food? Or is that built into a photographer's package?

We have also seen packages from $3,000 all the way up to $10,000! FML!

How would as photographer like to be approached? Should I ask your package info or be up front with our budget?

taemo
11-19-2015, 01:51 PM
ask for their package info, if they are not local photographers to your venue you are responsible for the cost on their transportation.

dont know accomodation or food, either so basically talk to the photographer first.

ExtraSlow
11-19-2015, 01:54 PM
Start getting some info now on typical packages.
In my opinion, photos are pretty much the only thing you keep from your wedding day. It's worth spending a little more on that instead of other shit like decorations.

If you have a firm budget, do be up-front about that. Also, for prime dates, many photogs book 12 months or more out, so start looking right now.

Good luck buddy.

msommers
11-19-2015, 02:29 PM
Yes you feed them, it's usually something during the day and a meal at the reception. If it's out of town you'd be expected to pay for accommodation and transportation costs.

I think you need to discuss (with your fiancee first) if you want engagement photos, additional books, photos, files, discs etc.