PDA

View Full Version : SUV Purchase: Ideas?

nismodrifter
03-20-2016, 12:25 AM
A slammed VW on stretched tires that has the aroma of diesel fuel and cannot get over speed bumps apparently doesn't work so great when you're married.

I'm hunting for an SUV (for many reasons).

Few concerns/points:

1. Have only driven 3 SUV's in my life
- 95 Pathfinder XE: my first car, rock solid, loved it, wish something like this exists today. if you have one (LHD) and its minty, let me know.
- 08 ML320 CDI: Parents vehicle, I drove it for a year, engine has its issues (swirl port -> carbon clogging intake flaps). SAM module get soaked with water, etc etc. Thankfully we were able to sort all issues out with rare MB intervention. That is after a literal tear down of the engine, stupid design in my opinion. I like MB diesels though.
- RX300: no idea of hands on maintenance as I've only driven it a handful of times, but has nice features.
- Essentially that means I have little experience in this breed of automobile. Should I just jump for a G63 AMG and call it a day?

2. Would prefer it does not eat my wallet at the pump.
I drive a MKIV TDI Jetta, I actually can't remember the last time I filled up.
Any reliable diesels on the market these days?
I haven't been up to date with engines.
I love the CDI base as its before the BLUE generation.
Hell the Liberty interested me at one point because of that.
Note: I'm diesel biased, as have driven one or another for most of my life.

3. Reliable
I am sick of tearing up my knuckles chasing down oil leaks.
Oil + filters I am fine doing.
I am sick of ripping down engines to chase down leaks associated with various turbo issues (I like turbo diesels though.....)

4. Full Size SUV.
Don't care about 6,7, or 8 people. 5 people. Comfortably.
GLK, Q5, etc are too small. (Do they call them compact SUV's now? unsure?).

5. Mods
None planned.

6. Budget:
I am looking at purchasing lightly used.
Approximately 2 years old
Looking at spending approx ~$30k