PDA

View Full Version : Mechanical Engineers - HVAC/Building Services

Hero_X
04-20-2016, 10:01 PM
Hey everyone,

So I was formerly working in Oil & Gas as a junior level mechanical engineer. As with everyone else, I've been laid off, and for quite some time too now.

I've been looking across Canada and it seems another big industry for mechanical engineers is HVAC/Building services. The thing is, I don't know anything about this industry, in that I have no experience.

In university I had the required thermodynamics, heat transfer, and fluid dynamics courses. I'm not sure if this would be sufficient to enter into this industry.

If I wanted to get a step into this field, how would I do it? Is there any course(s) that you recommend I should take? And where could I take said courses?

I want to do anything I can to get out of this rut and start working again. Any help is appreciated! Thank you!

Maxt
04-20-2016, 10:11 PM
I knew of 2 engineers that signed up and went through the apprenticeship program for Refrigeration to get a handle on what the industry really was about. The decent part is that you can work through the education, but don't expect to get paid engineers wages through the early years of the program.

dirtsniffer
04-20-2016, 10:51 PM
A buddy of mine is school (mechanical) got a job at engineered air straight out of uni. Pretty straightforward work. I don't think you would need additional schooling, unless competition is driving up qualifications.

killramos
04-21-2016, 06:52 AM
Originally posted by Hero_X

In university I had the required thermodynamics, heat transfer, and fluid dynamics courses. I'm not sure if this would be sufficient to enter into this industry.

Did you feel like you had a good grasp on all the technical details of Oil & Gas before you started that?