PDA

View Full Version : MBA Haskayne

kdizzles
07-13-2016, 11:20 PM
Hello guys,

If you may remember me, I had a question a year ago about whether or not I should transfer to U of C to complete my undergrad. I came from U of L and really wanted the Haskayne name recognition. However, I chose not to and finished my undergrad at U of L (finance) and have moved abroad to work for a small tech firm.

I went to inquire about the MBA program at Haskayne and was surprised that I was exempt from the GMAT test and 4 courses. I am now definately very interested in doing my MBA at some point, its only another 16 courses and the fees aren't too bad!

My question is, how long should I wait after undergrad to pursue my MBA? Because I have some job experience already (see below), I can choose to do it sooner rather than later since I'm older already. And for any of you guys that have done this program, what did you like or didn't like about it? Did it put you in a better position for work? Also which specialization did you pick?

Bit of background about me: I'm an older student, so my background is a bit varied: 4 years of auto sales, 1 year in O&G procurement, and now working for a tech firm (6 months), studied finance for my undergrad.

If any of you guys have any input, that would be excellent. Seeing as during these difficult times in the job market, going back to school and upgrading isn't such a bad idea!

kdizzles
07-13-2016, 11:22 PM
Also if anybody is wondering, I have contemplated about the CFA program, its cheaper and I can do it whenever, especially since I'm abroad now, it won't affect my job or travel. However, after doing my undergrad in finance, I'm not sure it's really my thing and I don't think I want to restrict myself to only finance related roles. That's why I thought the MBA might be better. Just some FYI.

kdizzles
07-13-2016, 11:30 PM
If anybody wanted to see my old thread, here ya go lol:

http://forums.beyond.ca/st/386110/transferring-to-u-of-c-worth-it/