PDA

View Full Version : Question About iPhone 6s Price Drop after iPhone 7 release

KrisYYC
08-16-2016, 03:41 PM
Hey all,

Question for the Apple iPhone users on here.

I believe Apple usually drops the price of the previous generation iPhone after the release of the latest one. How much usually is the price drop? And do they drop it immediately after announcing the next iPhone or does it take some time?

I am (was) a Windows phone user but after losing two apps that I use heavily (Amazon and Myfitnesspal) I'm finally throwing in the towel. I'm especially pissed about Myfitnesspal as I've been using it daily since 2012.

I know the iPhone 7 will be out soon but the lack of a headphone jack is kind of a deal breaker for me. I have expensive wired headphones and I do NOT want to use some dongle. I like the 6S, my issue is timing. I'm currently using an older Samsung and the battery life sucks on it, I'm leaving the country around Sept. 8th and would prefer to have the new phone before that so I can't decide if I should wait for a discount that might not happen in time anyway, or just suck it up and eat the cost.

If Apple always drops price on day of announcement then I'll chance it.

Anyway, long winded I know. Thanks for any info you may have.

P.S. Yes I know there's some nice Android handsets available, but I'm not looking for Android this time. I just got an iPad Pro 9.7 and would like to use the Apple ecosystem (at least for now lol).

Mitsu3000gt
08-16-2016, 04:10 PM
Are you signing a contract or no? Probably not if you're leaving the country but the carrier discounts are usually much better (previous gen iPhones are often free with certain contracts) but the discounts on outright purchases are laughable. The cheapest iPhone 6 (not S or plus) soon to be 2 full generations old is still over $800 after tax at the apple store which is insane.

KrisYYC
08-16-2016, 04:16 PM
Originally posted by Mitsu3000gt