PDA

View Full Version : Selling a car online....how does it work?

The BMW Guy
08-23-2016, 02:23 PM
I have a buyer in Regina that would like to buy my car. He seems okay with not seeing it, he'd get a freight company to come pick it up and drive it to him.

I'm wondering how this sort of transaction works as I've never done it before. Does the freight company sign off the car to insure it's good? How does payment work, bill of sale....etc.

Anyone have experience in this? Thanks in advance.

roopi
08-23-2016, 02:24 PM
This is a scam. Do you not let someone pickup your car.

FraserB
08-23-2016, 02:29 PM
Yeah, this isn't legit.

If you go through with it, you're going to get a cheque for more than the sale price and him asking you to send the difference back from his "mistake". The "shipper" will pick the car up, the bank will call you in a few days and say the cheque is fraudulent and you'll be out a car.

Tell him if he is serious, you'll pay his bus ticket to Calgary so he can give you cash and drive his car home.

Kloubek
08-23-2016, 02:43 PM
As others have said, I would be very, very careful. More often than not, vehicle transactions where the buyer asks for it to be shipped are fraudulent in some way or another.

The BMW Guy
08-23-2016, 02:44 PM
Hmm....I swear I was smart enough to recognize a scam. He gave me his number and has been bargaining the price, asking about car details/history/etc.

Oh and sorry, I made a typo. He's in Regina. Either way, I'm not too comfortable with it....but how would this go down if this was a legit buyer?

He initially was planning to fly out and drive it back, but he said the amount for a flight + time was the same as freight so he's rather freight it back.

dirtsniffer
08-23-2016, 03:03 PM
Deliver it for the price of freight?

colinxx235
08-23-2016, 03:06 PM
If you can convince the guy to wire transfer funds before hand then I wouldn't see an issue with letting him freight it out. :dunno:

Redlyne_mr2
08-23-2016, 03:11 PM