PDA

View Full Version : White balancing accessories

D'z Nutz
09-26-2016, 03:09 PM
What are you guys using for white balancing? I've been using a Whibal card for quite a few years and while it does the job, in some situations it left me wanting more.

I recently heard about X-Rite ColorChecker Passport and it sounds interesting. Anyone ever use this?

Dn5VvB32wVI

Mitsu3000gt
09-26-2016, 03:36 PM
I've always used the Colorchecker passport. It has a WB card on the back, and different gradients of WB for portrait and landscape.

I bought it for the custom profiles though, which are the best things ever. They are dead simple to make, and give you perfect color in any scenario. You make generic ones for sunlight, shade, overcast, etc. and then you can make custom ones on the spot for important shoots (eg. have a model hold it in front of her face for the first shot in that lighting). Adobe's stock profiles suck, so I used to waste a lot of time trying to tweak them to my liking, and now all I have to do it highlight groups of photos taken under the same lighting and click one button for great color from a custom profile.

As long as the Colorchecker is in one of your pictures, you're good to go for anything else taken under that same lighting. You are supposed to make different ones for every lens, and I do, but I have never been able to see a difference. You have to make different profiles for different cameras though, which is fine. It's also handy if you shoot more than one brand and want color to stay consistent between them when delivering photos to clients.

gogreen
09-26-2016, 10:00 PM
There's also the "dual illuminant" feature where you can take two photos of the Passport under different lighting conditions to create one profile as a baseline, but agreed that the ability to make custom profiles is most powerful. Really handy tool.

D'z Nutz
09-27-2016, 01:24 PM
X-Rite ColorChecker Passport: recommended by 2 out of 2 Beyond photogs.