PDA

View Full Version : Winter warriors -post your setups

J-hop
11-28-2016, 03:45 PM
Won't sugar coat it, my commute kinda sucks! I've been commuting for about 2 months now, just under 50kms per day total. Really nice when it's warm but gets brutal when it's cold (that -8 day we had a week or two ago was killer!) Looking for some ideas for keeping warm and safe on my commute!!

Current gear:

Bike:
-Hybrid bike
-700x35 studded tires (just the cheap two row schwalbe studded tires from MEC)
-MEC bar mitts- these have been a great investment but looking to upgrade to the real bar mitts brand as they seem to offer more protection
-cygolite metro 700 lumens front light
- some random rear light
-pdw origami front and rear fenders

Clothing:
-Pearl Izumi lobster gloves
-MEC shoe covers
-craft top and bottom thermal under layers
- pearl izumi headband
- (MEC I think) face mask
- MEC windbreaker and cheap splash pants
(Obviously I don't wear all of this everyday)

Considering purchasing:
- heated socks (my feet freeze easily)
- good thermal tights instead of the splash pants (MEC brand???)
- good light thermal jacket (MEC brand???)

Post up what you use and any key items worth checking out. The bar mitts were by far the biggest change I've found so far and I would recommend them for sure.

blitz
11-29-2016, 04:42 PM
I'm not winter riding this year, but I did for the last 2 years.

Bike is a Specialized Tri-Cross disk, 700x30 Schwalbe studded. Bar mitts and a 1x9 setup.

I picked up some winter bibs, it's nice not to have any gaps around your waist added a thermal layer underneath when it got really cold and some raceface shorts overtop for modesty, lol.

I switched to a snowboarding helmet and goggles when it went below -10 ish.