PDA

View Full Version : Business liability insurance - discussion

ExtraSlow
05-23-2017, 04:04 PM
Many of you know that I've started a business. I've recently landed a small contract with a large multi-national company, and their vendor setup process is very thorough. like a zip file of 14 attachments. Gross.

Anyway, what's come up is that I don't have any liability insurance and I may need some. I've been getting some conflicting information about they type of insurance I need. Given that my business is engaged in only training in an office environment, it's not what I'd consider "risky".

The confusion comes from the fact that I am a professional engineer, registered with APEGA. Some companies want to quote me professional liability as well as general liability, which is intended to cover the "quality" of my work as I understand it. This increases the cost significantly. Others seem to think that since I'm involved in the business of training, and not "engaged in the practice of engineering" that normal commercial liability is fine.

What say you beyond.ca?

Also, if anyone has a good small business insurance broker that recommend, I'd like to talk to them.

Dave P
05-24-2017, 07:18 AM
What type of training do you provide?

I would say its pretty likely you only need a CGL, but because you are an engineer, they are going for the upsale.

You really should only be looking at Pro Liab if you are going to be legally liable for financial damages that do not arise out of Bodily Injury or Property Damage

IggyB
05-24-2017, 07:24 AM
Sounds like general Liability.

Go to State farm. Least amount of paperwork, $325-375.

PM for contact info.

ExtraSlow
05-24-2017, 08:49 AM
Training is both general business topics as well as specific technical topics. Some of our clients are professional engineers or EIT's, but that's a very small percentage. Most are in related professions, finance, accounting, support or sales etc.

Nufy
05-24-2017, 09:21 AM