Beyond.ca

Registration is free! Car Forums - Member Rides Car Forums - Find other members Car Forums - Calendar Car Forums - Frequently Asked Questions Forum Rules and Regulations Car Forums - Search Logout
Beyond.ca - Car Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.3.9 Beyond.ca - Car Forums > Lounge > Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics > Entry Level Home Use NAS


Author
Thread
cidley69
First Gear

Location: Calgary / AB
What I drive: '08 Ford Lariat
Posts/Day: 0.13
Trader Rating: (66)
User Rating: 96%


Entry Level Home Use NAS quote:

Tried running Plex from my laptop, but ran it issues that didn't let it work well.

Looking for a basic, home use only NAS setup to stream movies/music to devices, and act as a backup for photos/docs on computer.

Looked into Synology and Qnap, but once you start adding drives to the empty boxes they get expensive.

Are there any better options aimed at home consumer use?

__________________
My Karma ran over your Dogma

Report this post | IP: Logged

Old Post 04-21-2017 04:05 PM
cidley69 is offline Click Here to See the Profile for cidley69 Click here to Send cidley69 a Private Message Find more posts by cidley69 Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
 
cet
Neutral

Location: Calgary
What I drive:
Posts/Day: 0.08
Trader Rating: (1)
User Rating: 100%


quote:

I'm also interested in this for the same uses that you have. I can't decide between buying one or building/having one built.

Report this post | IP: Logged

Old Post 04-21-2017 04:14 PM
cet is offline Click Here to See the Profile for cet Click here to Send cet a Private Message Find more posts by cet Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
jwslam
Second Gear

Location: Stampede Central
What I drive: is easy to spot
Posts/Day: 0.44
Trader Rating: (61)
User Rating: 96%


quote:

How much storage are you looking for?
How many (potential max) users would you have accessing the drive at one time?

If I were to set up some NAS for cheap, I'm the sole user and only need a few TB so just an external HDD attached to the router fits my purposes. Or a cheap desktop, put a few HDD in it and run it as a dedicated server.

__________________

Report this post | IP: Logged

Old Post 04-21-2017 04:21 PM
jwslam is offline Click Here to See the Profile for jwslam Click here to Send jwslam a Private Message Find more posts by jwslam Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
schocker
Fifth Gear

Location: Calgary
What I drive: Euro Accord Brah
Posts/Day: 1.46
Trader Rating: (1)
User Rating: 100%


quote:

I have a 2 bay (2x 3tb wd red) synology which used to be for streaming but is now for backup only. It is great, just use it as a network drive off my computer. Don't have it currently set up for cloud use though. I have a 4bay (4x 5tb wd Red) qnap for streaming now, and it works great with my shield and fire tvs. I looked at building something myself, but liked the small form factor and ease of use for the increased price. I believe power consumption would also be lower based on the cpus I was looking at back then. Looks like around $600 for a similar 4 bay to what I have now, but memory express has them as a daily deal every once and a while.

__________________

Report this post | IP: Logged

Old Post 04-21-2017 04:24 PM
schocker is offline Click Here to See the Profile for schocker Click here to Send schocker a Private Message Visit schocker's homepage! Find more posts by schocker Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
cidley69
First Gear

Location: Calgary / AB
What I drive: '08 Ford Lariat
Posts/Day: 0.13
Trader Rating: (66)
User Rating: 96%


quote:

that's an option I never thought of. if I put a 3 tb thumb drive onto router, would this be able to stream video to tvs? any concerns about decoding on the fly?

can it be set to take auto backups of computer on same network?

__________________
My Karma ran over your Dogma

Report this post | IP: Logged

Old Post 04-21-2017 04:25 PM
cidley69 is offline Click Here to See the Profile for cidley69 Click here to Send cidley69 a Private Message Find more posts by cidley69 Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
rage2
Guest

Location: YYC
What I drive: Ricer SUV, Lexus Coupe in Mid Life Crisis Orange
Posts/Day: 1.11
Trader Rating: (25)
User Rating: 99%


quote:

QNAP is on the cheap side, it's reliable and works well. There are a ton of "apps" that you can install on there, even Plex (although I think it doesn't have the hp to do transcoding, so it forces full res which isn't a bad thing). I use Google Drive sync on mine, so the entire NAS is sync'd to my unlimited G Drive for cloud backup even though I'm on a RAID setup that's redundant.

__________________

Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name


Report this post | IP: Logged

Old Post 04-21-2017 04:26 PM
rage2 is offline Click Here to See the Profile for rage2 Click here to Send rage2 a Private Message Visit rage2's homepage! Find more posts by rage2 Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
taemo
Second Gear

Location: Calgary
What I drive: rally pig
Posts/Day: 0.76
Trader Rating: (17)
User Rating: 100%


quote:

I use a QNAP NAS but don't use any of the special apps for streaming videos as I have a Windows PC/laptop connected on our TVs.

I also use it to backup photos and videos which is also synced to Amazon Prime Photos and OneDrive for Business

Report this post | IP: Logged

Old Post 04-21-2017 04:40 PM
taemo is offline Click Here to See the Profile for taemo Click here to Send taemo a Private Message Find more posts by taemo Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Mitsu3000gt
E-Gear Paddle Shifter

Location: Calgary
What I drive: 2017 Civic Hatch ST
Posts/Day: 1.80
Trader Rating: (28)
User Rating: 93%


quote:

Plex will run on some pretty crappy computers - how old is your laptop?

Option 1: Synology makes the best NAS' in my opinion, especially with their customer support and extremely polished software and app support (for device streaming). A good, basic, NAS with 2 HDDs will run you around $600-$700 with a pair of 3 TB hard drives. Not too far off a complete compact PC build.

Option 2: Build a full, cheap PC for downloading/streaming/backup for the same or less money, I put together a quick example:

https://ca.pcpartpicker.com/list/v9zYzM

Obviously you could tweak that either way price-wise but that is a wicked little PC for ~$550 including Windows 10.


Option 3: Get an Nvidia Shield TV. Runs Plex flawlessly and can even be a Plex server itself. You can attach any kind of storage you want to it. This is by far your cheapest option but you don't really get the backup side of things, so you could pair it with some dirt cheap cloud storage like Blackblaze and have unlimited backup for $5/mo. Or if you're an Amazon Prime member you get free unlimited photo backup plus 5GB for docs/non-photos.

http://www.memoryexpress.com/Products/MX64888

It also gives you the fastest and most polished platform for Netflix I've ever seen, and you can do tons of other stuff with it too. You could also add the Shield to a PC option for the best of both worlds.

Anyways, just some things to think about.

Report this post | IP: Logged

Old Post 04-21-2017 05:03 PM
Mitsu3000gt is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Mitsu3000gt Click here to Send Mitsu3000gt a Private Message Find more posts by Mitsu3000gt Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
pheoxs
First Gear

Location: Calgary
What I drive: Fiesta ST
Posts/Day: 0.27
Trader Rating: (7)
User Rating: 98%


quote:

Plex and a NAS generally don't do so well together unless you are going to convert your entire library so that it can be direct played. As soon as plex has to transcode something you're going to run up to a wall really quickly.

If you look up the processor in your laptop or any computer and search for passmark benchmarks, it generally accepted it takes a score of 2000 passmark points per stream for a plex server.

My suggestion is instead of dropping ~500$ on a NAS that you drop that same amount on a mini itx computer with a case that can hold 4 drives and you'll be much better off.

__________________
Nolan

Report this post | IP: Logged

Old Post 04-21-2017 05:20 PM
pheoxs is offline Click Here to See the Profile for pheoxs Click here to Send pheoxs a Private Message Find more posts by pheoxs Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
suntan
First Gear

Location: Calgary, AB
What I drive:
Posts/Day: 0.24
Trader Rating: (0)
User Rating: 97%


quote:

Synology DS216play?

Report this post | IP: Logged

Old Post 04-21-2017 05:23 PM
suntan is offline Click Here to See the Profile for suntan Click here to Send suntan a Private Message Find more posts by suntan Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Crazyjoker77
Neutral

Location: Medicine Hat/Calgary
What I drive: toyotas, mitsu, and a ford
Posts/Day: 0.07
Trader Rating: (0)
User Rating: 100%


quote:

While I have a beast dedicated media PC in the basement (6700k, 980,16tb in raid) I find that I still use an old ass western digital mybook network HD because its so maintnence free and just seems to work with everything on the network without having to run separate software or spend time setting it up. (all my vizio smart TVs see the drive over the network and has no problem streaming from it. Xbox has no issues streaming from it. Can pull any of the files off from my android based phone no problem, and of course it is just like a harddrive to any pc.)

I only bought them because they were clearance at staples once when I was in there like 5+ years ago.

Like I said its a 5+ year old device at this point and they seemed to change there naming convention the Mybook is now their external powered usb harddrives, Mycloud is there network based ones.

I've never really looked into what bandwidth they can actually support but i've have no issues streaming a movie to a tv and audio to the xbox at once(while playing a online game).

One would hope the new ones are as good as the old one turned out to be.

Report this post | IP: Logged

Old Post 04-21-2017 05:53 PM
Crazyjoker77 is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Crazyjoker77 Click here to Send Crazyjoker77 a Private Message Visit Crazyjoker77's homepage! Find more posts by Crazyjoker77 Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
J-D
Neutral

Location: Calgary
What I drive:
Posts/Day: 0.05
Trader Rating: (0)
User Rating: 100%


quote:

I have a Synology that I've slowly expanded over the years... Maxed out at 18 drives now. Hasn't given me a single headache yet though!

Regardless of what you go with, just make sure you scrub your array frequently if you're running raid.

Report this post | IP: Logged

Old Post 04-21-2017 06:26 PM
J-D is offline Click Here to See the Profile for J-D Click here to Send J-D a Private Message Find more posts by J-D Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
JordanEG6
FKA: TeamCrewcial

Location: Calgary
What I drive: Honda E Toaster
Posts/Day: 0.35
Trader Rating: (41)
User Rating: 99%


quote:

Originally posted by cidley69
that's an option I never thought of. if I put a 3 tb thumb drive onto router, would this be able to stream video to tvs? any concerns about decoding on the fly?

can it be set to take auto backups of computer on same network?



I've put in a 3TB drive into the router. Plex is able to pull it off the network and run movies without any problems.

__________________
SneakerFiles.com | Blog | Team AM Fam

1993 Honda Civic CX (B16A2) - 2002-2005
1992 Honda Civic Si (K20A2) - 2006-2008
2008 BMW 335i - 2008-2013
2008 Honda Element EX AWD - 2013-Current


NEW LISTING SELLING OVER 200-300 PAIRS OF SNEAKERS ** CLICK*** OR PM ME

Report this post | IP: Logged

Old Post 04-21-2017 08:08 PM
JordanEG6 is offline Click Here to See the Profile for JordanEG6 Click here to Send JordanEG6 a Private Message Find more posts by JordanEG6 Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
cidley69
First Gear

Location: Calgary / AB
What I drive: '08 Ford Lariat
Posts/Day: 0.13
Trader Rating: (66)
User Rating: 96%


quote:

Is there way to get backup functionality from this setup?

__________________
My Karma ran over your Dogma

Report this post | IP: Logged

Old Post 04-21-2017 08:10 PM
cidley69 is offline Click Here to See the Profile for cidley69 Click here to Send cidley69 a Private Message Find more posts by cidley69 Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
jwslam
Second Gear

Location: Stampede Central
What I drive: is easy to spot
Posts/Day: 0.44
Trader Rating: (61)
User Rating: 96%


quote:

Originally posted by cidley69
Is there way to get backup functionality from this setup?


Install HDD on computer; set up windows auto back up at x interval off the router attached HDD.

__________________

Report this post | IP: Logged

Old Post 04-21-2017 09:12 PM
jwslam is offline Click Here to See the Profile for jwslam Click here to Send jwslam a Private Message Find more posts by jwslam Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Mar
Second Gear

Location: Calgary, Alberta
What I drive: 2015 Hyundai Veloster
Posts/Day: 0.44
Trader Rating: (14)
User Rating: 88%


quote:

If you're going to back up files inside your house, then just get an additional hard drive for $100 and set it up to create a backup once a week. No need for a NAS, you can even stream straight from the same desktop. The trick is to back up your files outside your home in case of a fire, if your house burns down, then you lose your main drive and your backup anyway.

__________________

Originally posted by Go4Long
or else what? you'll turn on the caps lock?
you do realize this is the internet right? lol

Originally posted by rob the knob
mar, you are good guy at heart
you must realize your limitations
then you will be happy if you fine place in live

Originally posted by blitz
Jesus man, I know you like Transformers, but you need to get out more. No one should get this upset over a movie based on children's toys.

Report this post | IP: Logged

Old Post 04-27-2017 05:42 AM
Mar is online now Click Here to See the Profile for Mar Click here to Send Mar a Private Message Find more posts by Mar Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
revelations
Third Gear

Location: calgary
What I drive: 2g Eclipse / EP3
Posts/Day: 0.99
Trader Rating: (5)
User Rating: 98%


quote:

Originally posted by Mar
If you're going to back up files inside your house, then just get an additional hard drive for $100 and set it up to create a backup once a week. No need for a NAS, you can even stream straight from the same desktop. The trick is to back up your files outside your home in case of a fire, if your house burns down, then you lose your main drive and your backup anyway.



Or in case one gets "hacked" .....

__________________

Report this post | IP: Logged

Old Post 04-27-2017 07:31 AM
revelations is offline Click Here to See the Profile for revelations Click here to Send revelations a Private Message Find more posts by revelations Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
ZenOps
Neutral

Location: Calgary
What I drive:
Posts/Day: 0.08
Trader Rating: (0)
User Rating: 99%


quote:

I'm using poor mans NAS, which means a couple USB sticks hanging off a TP-Link Archer C7. There are wattage restrictions doing it this way, unless using powered external drives.

Although it states it can use USB 3.0 type speeds, realistically it only does 2.0 type speeds (usually good enough for 2K streaming, but totally inadequate for 4K)

__________________
Hi! I like shorts! They're comfy and easy to wear!

Report this post | IP: Logged

Old Post 04-27-2017 12:46 PM
ZenOps is online now Click Here to See the Profile for ZenOps Click here to Send ZenOps a Private Message Find more posts by ZenOps Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Xtrema
Sixth Gear

Location: Calgary, Alberta
What I drive: 2016 MB C450
Posts/Day: 1.54
Trader Rating: (4)
User Rating: 95%


quote:

Plex should run pretty good as long as your laptop has at least 2 core from a i3 or i5 series from the last 3 year. Here is Plex's transcoding requirment:

https://support.plex.tv/hc/en-us/ar...-for-my-Server-

NAS only be a good storage, Plex transcoding on NAS is still pretty bad because the processor in a NAS is very slow.

Figure out why Plex is slow on your laptop.

Report this post | IP: Logged

Old Post 04-28-2017 02:47 AM
Xtrema is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Xtrema Click here to Send Xtrema a Private Message Find more posts by Xtrema Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
The time now is 01:37 AM (GMT) Post New Thread   
  Last Thread   Next Thread
Beyond.ca - Car Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.3.9 Beyond.ca - Car Forums > Lounge > Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics > Entry Level Home Use NAS



Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this Thread


Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON
 

Google
 
Web beyond.ca

Terms of Use - Contact Us - Advertising Info - Archives - Car Blog

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.3.9
Copyright ©2009 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.

Bringing Car Enthusiasts together in discussion on our car forums

Page Statistics : Page generated in 0.09847593 seconds (72.23% PHP - 27.77% MySQL) with 45 queries.