PDA

View Full Version : DivX DVD Player

koopkoop2
10-26-2005, 12:00 AM
I'm thinking of purchaing a DivX DVD player, but I wanted to find out a little more about the quality In DIvX mode,

Is the quality indistinguashible from a regular DVD?

Is it true I can simply load up a DVD with DivX content and play away?

Any recommended players or are they all the same?

/////AMG
10-26-2005, 01:24 AM
Yes to the 2nd question.

I'm no DVD expert so I can't anser the first, and for the last I doubt Canada has Tevion DVD players.

I got mine fo rbaout $70, works like a charm, I just load movies on DVD/CD-RW's and play them, then just write over them again. I would get those DiVX players where you can download codecs, I'm sure that will come in handy,

dragonone
10-26-2005, 01:30 AM
it depends how the author encoded it
but from what i've exp. xvid has some nice quality vids on the net

djayz
10-26-2005, 01:32 AM
the quality all depends on the source divx file
so if the resolution isnt good on the divx file dont expect much from the dvd player

and yes its true you can just load up divx files onto a dvd disc and play away

theres an lg one at futureshop
http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/proddetail.asp?logon=&langid=EN&sku_id=0665000FS10060449&catid=
this ones good from what i have heard and for the price its good

i went with the http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/proddetail.asp?logon=&langid=EN&sku_id=0665000FS10062436&catid=
great deal.Has an HDMI output and its capable of upconverting 720p and 1080i which is awesome. I would highly recommend this one over the lg just cuz of the features. And another bonus is this one comes with an HDMI cable in the box.

saiyajin
10-26-2005, 10:17 AM
i have the phillips Divx player i bought from bestbuy for around 80bux i think its a pretty decent player, only bad thing about it is max 8x fast forward which isnt even close to the 32x on my toshiba but whatever