PDA

View Full Version : JDM vehicles

Ryan1386
11-06-2005, 09:44 PM
I was reading a forum about JDM car importation rules (the one about raising the limit to 25 years) about a week ago and most of those who responded seemed to have some issues regarding JDM vehicles. These issues ranged from some thinking that they are just a scam and others complaining about how cars like skylines and supras would no longer be unique. As a university student I do not have the disposable income to spend large amounts of cash on a car and as a car enthusiast I would like a car that doesnt suck ass. I think importing a car is a good way to solve my problem, for example a nissan pulsar GTi-R AWD, with an sr20det with 80k or less only runs about 6 to 8g. I do understand modifying the car would be difficult but as JDM gets more accepted I can see this problem being alleviated. I would just like to know why so many people have a problem with JDM vehicles or the other side why importaing a JDM vehicle is a good idea.

Thank you

Skyline_Addict
11-06-2005, 09:55 PM
getting a JDM vehicle is always something that depends on personal taste, as well as a understanding of the consequences of getting one. i haven't heard much about the possible 25 year change, but personally would not even get a JDM car at the current cut off year. many of these cars do come with "low" km on them. many of these cars have been salvaged in some way, and all of the jdm cars i've seen personally are in rough shape body wise. the engines and mechanics seem pretty peppy though. getting a JDM car will always be unique to here as a reason people get JDM cars is because we don't have them here. an sr20det should be very easy to modify. the rest of the car itself, such as suspension, body, etc will be a little more difficult.