PDA

View Full Version : Taxes charged by dealer on second hand car

TipoBoy
11-08-2005, 04:48 AM
I went to a dealer the other day to buy a second hand 4x4 for the winter and they quoted $600 in additional extras for various government taxes ranging from A/C to tyre disposal. Can anyone point me in the right direction as to whether these are correct? Why should I be paying the tyre disposal price, surely the person who purchased the tyres pays that not who they sell them on to. Does anyone know where I can find out whether all of these taxes are valid as it seems a lot to pay on a second hand vehicle.

Just trying to make sure they're not trying to do one over on me as I'm new to these sorts of charges.

Cheers

John

GT4rally
11-08-2005, 05:50 AM
That sounds really shady to me. I've bought two used cars from different dealers, and they both tried to charged me $100 for administrative fees and GST. I told them both that my offer stands firm with no taxes or fees... they both took it. You might have trouble with the GST, but I wouldn't buy it if they are trying to add in a bunch of made-up fees/taxes.

What dealer is it, so I know to stay away?

benyl
11-08-2005, 07:54 AM
You must pay GST. Anything else should have been paid by the original owner of the vehicle.

eclipse00
11-08-2005, 09:31 AM
Originally posted by benyl
You must pay GST. Anything else should have been paid by the original owner of the vehicle.

You're right, they can only charge the GST on a used car. A/C tax is paid when the car is bought new, and tire tax is paid when ever tires go on the car.

sputnik
11-08-2005, 09:48 AM
The only other time that you may have to pay AC tax is if the car is currently outside of Canada and has to clear customs.

Was the car originally from the US? Perhaps the dealer is trying to recoup the costs of importing the vehicle.

Still seems really shady to me.

TipoBoy
11-08-2005, 10:52 AM
Thanks for your replies,