PDA

View Full Version : I need a little domestic diagnostic help.

Canadian 2.5RS
03-13-2006, 02:57 PM
So my wife drives a 96 dodge stratus and we are having a few problems with it. Now i fairly sure it is a charging system problem.

Here is the crucial info:
right now the batt is dead. but if i boost it it will start right up.
the belt has been slipping for awhile (i know i should have gotten it taken care of right away but i have been busy). So i need that fixed too and it may be the cause of the problem.
The problem is that when you drive the car for a little the electrical system starts to die out. ie the the radio goes dead then the headlights get dim then the car dies and needs to be boosted again.

my diagnosis is that the belt is slipping so much that the alt isnt charging the batt enough to keep it going or the belt and alt are screwed.

I am by no means a mechanic so I wrote this thread to see if anyone has any extra suggestions as to what the problem might be. I just want to be as knowledgeable as possible when i take it in to the mechanic (so you dont have to point out the obvious. I am taking it in to be looked at).

Cavey
03-13-2006, 03:14 PM
Start the vehicle, while it's running remove the negative cable from the battery. If it dies right away it's the alternater. Otherwise it's the battery.

VetteRacin
03-13-2006, 08:52 PM
Well if the belt is slipping then it will not be turning the alternator enough and that would make the battery die

shadow_driftR93
03-14-2006, 05:54 PM