PDA

View Full Version : Painting the Valve Cover

LilDrunkenSmurf
03-14-2006, 03:39 PM
I have a swapped engine and it doesn't exactly color match my car... and I was wondering how easy it would be to paint the valve cover myself... I was looking into buying a mugen one for around 120 USD but thats a little steep considering i'm still a student... Any suggestions on how to go about this? type of paint that wont come off from the heat. Can it be done without being sent to a shop?
It's a B16A. Thanks

And yes, I did search it already.

heavyD
03-14-2006, 03:44 PM
You can try a decent high temp paint. It will look decent for a while but probably end up flaking or scratching very easliy.

I always get mine powdercoated. I've got various valve covers (B16, 4G63, SRT-4) done in white, red, black, etc and have never had any issues with durability

LilDrunkenSmurf
03-14-2006, 03:45 PM
How much did the cost usually come around to?

teggypimp95
03-14-2006, 03:48 PM
yea i used high heat spray paint on my b18b head, it looks great for a while but soon flaked and bubbled and then looked liek crap. so i splurged for the mugen valve cover and i loved it. looked soo awesome.

LilDrunkenSmurf
03-14-2006, 04:39 PM
where can i get the paint? i'll probably follow the same route... high temp paint till the summer when i can work full time

teggypimp95
03-14-2006, 04:42 PM
i just got some from canandian tire. high heat engine paint. but there is all kinds, and for all kinds of surfaces so read carfully. and check to see if there is any high heat primer or sealer, could also help the life of the paint job.

rony_espana
03-14-2006, 04:43 PM
Originally posted by heavyD
You can try a decent high temp paint. It will look decent for a while but probably end up flaking or scratching very easliy.

I always get mine powdercoated. I've got various valve covers (B16, 4G63, SRT-4) done in white, red, black, etc and have never had any issues with durability

how much is that?

dieselpower91