PDA

View Full Version : Ideas for new car

maskofdoom
03-21-2003, 03:30 AM
Hey all,

I'm currently looking for a new car for when I go on internship. I was originally thinking 2003 Accord/2004 Mazda 6, but they seem to be a little out of my price range. The Sentra Spec-V is great bang for the buck, but the interior looks a little too cheap for my taste.

So what about something like the 2003 Mazda Protege? 130hp, true....but can I soup it up with a turbo or something like that? Any other recommendations? I would prefer a newer car (2001+, 4dr since I'm considering insurance too, pwr everything) with prices ranging from $20,000 - $25,000.

I don't like the orange the Mazdaspeed comes in, but otherwise it seems like a great little car. Can I get the basic Protege souped up to the level of the Mazdaspeed? Obviously it won't be factory work, it'll be aftermarket, but still...?

I'm kinda new to the whole car buying experience, so please share your extensive knowledge with me! Thanks!

method
03-21-2003, 06:45 AM
The turbo kit that FMprotege.com offers bumps up performance levels a lot, but it sure costs a lot of money. Not only that, but you'll kill your warranty... not saying the protege is a quick to fall apart car, cause I love mine, but you can't be too careful.

MerfBall
03-21-2003, 09:20 AM
I agree 100% with your opinions on both the mazdaspeed protege and spec-v. Have you looked at the 2003 Jetta 1.8T GLS, it's $26,370 MSRP (a little over your price range), but well worth it. It has better warranty than both mazda and nissan. And it has a lot of luxury standard. And the insurance on it is decent. You should take a look at that

RC-Cola
03-21-2003, 10:15 AM
I have a '03 Spec V and I personnal realy like the fit and finish of the interior, but that's my opinon...

VW's are very nice especially the Jetta's, but everybody and their dog have one now. There kind of like a Civic or Accord, there are just too many of them on the street for my taste.