PDA

View Full Version : Do you have to be stupid to design roads ???

fast95pony
03-22-2003, 04:01 PM
Calgary's road system is really silly. The Deerfoot has different interchanges at every intersection. The merge lanes are way too short. The Memorial/Deerfoot/C-train mess is really dangerous.
Why does the Trans-Canada go right through the city ??
There are many dangerous intersections with street signs, trees and building blocking sight lines.Many 4 lane roads merge into 2 without warning.
And the roads themselves are in horrible condition.

The Engineers must be smokin crack !!

:banghead: :guns:

theken
03-22-2003, 04:23 PM
i believe that you have to be the stupidest person in the world to design calgarys road system.

ExtremeSi
03-22-2003, 04:47 PM
I totally agree with you. Being an engineer student myself, me and my friends always question some intersections. And whats the point of uncontrolled intersections?? They are not worth the time they save drivers. A few yield signs would fix the problem and my friend wouldn't have gotten side swiped...

Ben
03-22-2003, 05:19 PM
95, you are right on the money that is for sure! That was one thing I sure noticed when I bought my new car. Merge lanes ARE way too short. I have to just floor it so I can match the speed of the cars and fit in. everyone in slow cars ends up stopping in the merge lane.

That Memorial deerfoot xchange is brutal as well, although I do like taking the memorial W onto deerfoot south one, because I get in the right lane and haul ass down the right side parallel with the bow and skip all the slow pokes who dont know how to merge into 110km/h traffic anyways.

kenny
03-22-2003, 05:27 PM
The worse is that yield onto deerfoot off of Peigan? onto Deerfoot South. Who the hell thought of that? hahah.

jdmakkord
03-22-2003, 05:30 PM
or the ramp from 16ave to barlow south....shoot you into traffic going 90ish

method
03-22-2003, 05:39 PM
yes... you also have to have a burning hatred for humanity.