PDA

View Full Version : CPSC231 @ UofC

hussein
04-04-2006, 08:38 PM
Hello:
I am now enrolled in Chem201 with labs that give me Tuesday and Thursday free.

I was thinking of taking Computer Science 231 as well in the spring. It says that there is a lab section along with the tutorial and the lecture, however for the lab it says it is TBA and same for the fall ones.

I was planning to call UofC tomorrow to find out more info but was wondering if someone on here could tell me before I call becuase they are closed right now.

I am also having trouble finding where it says what exactly this means:
H(3-2T-1)
I know that H stands for half, the 3 for 3 hour lecture, and 2t for 2 hour tutorial, and 1 for one hour lab? Can someone confirm this becuase I can't find an example on their webpage at the moment.

Also, with Chem201 at the same time as CPSC231 will this be extremly difficult? I do not have any programming background but I have basic knowledge of unix I think, from setting up apache and qmail ect on my freebsd box. But nothing major.

Lastly, my instructor is Deur, has anyone had him, is there anything I should expect or not expect?

Thanks for your input regarding this matter.

Team_Mclaren
04-04-2006, 08:49 PM
DO NOT!! under ANY circumstances!!! Take a class with Deur!! YOU WILL KILL YOURSELF

He is the worst professor in the history of the university. He will teach you nothing.!!! I took Cpsc 231 with him and even some of the cpsc majors failed. If you have to take it with him, pray to god that you have a good TA. The course itself isnt that hard, but Deur is retarded.

hussein
04-04-2006, 08:51 PM
lol. He wasn't very enthusiastic on the phone.

What other course would you recommend? I wouldn't mind taking somthing easy, I really need to get my GPA up, but I figured I should be able to do decent in CpSc, and I will have to take it then in the fall.

Oh yea, my tutorial teacher is Deur.

Team_Mclaren
04-04-2006, 08:54 PM