PDA

View Full Version : Steps to detailing?

riced
04-27-2006, 06:22 PM
Hey all, I've searched the forum numerous times and I couldn't find anything that would just simple explain the steps...

So, my situation is I've got a black car and I want to know the exact steps in simple order starting from washing the car and drying it... if you guys could maybe throw in some products that i could pick up at canadian tire or something that would be great also.

see I'm confused about if i should wax first, or polish first and what kind of cloth or material do i use to do it?
im new to this, its all so confusing... anyways thanks

Slashin_
04-28-2006, 11:09 PM
....took painting course dunno if i can help but u can maybe lightly sand it....clear coat it then buff it then wax

kaput
04-29-2006, 09:21 AM

hash
04-29-2006, 09:55 AM
autopia.org is a pretty good site to check out as well.

Mitsu3000gt
05-09-2006, 01:56 PM
Here is what you need to do for proper detailing on any car - I too own a black car.

1) Wash car normally, then take off the hose nozzle and run the free water over the car as to decrease drying time - alot of water will sheet off
2) Dry car with a very soft terry towel or something like that
3) Use a clay bar on your vehicle to remove paint contaminents
4) Depending on how many swirls and everything, polish your car with a good 2 in1 polisher like the porter cable 7424 and a good polish like Menzerna intensive polish and a orange or white pad. Buff off by hand with a super soft terry towel or microfiber towel.
5) Polish car with a good finishing polish like Menzerna finishing polish and a white pad, buff off with a super soft terry towel or microfiber towel.
6) Optional Step: Apply a glaze to the car, Menzerna's glaze is awesome, buff off with soft terry towel or microfiber towel.