PDA

View Full Version : Choosing a University

bball2
05-16-2006, 07:11 PM
Hey everyone, just wondering if you guys could give me some advice on some universities. First of all, I am a high school student and I will be going off to university this fall. I applied to three, U of C (engineering), U of Western Ontario (engineering + business), and U of Waterloo (math + business), and I've gotten acceptance to all three (which I wasn't expecting, so it kinda makes my decision a little harder)

If I go to U of C, I'll pretty much be living with my parents while going to school the entire time, and for the other two I'd prolly live in res the first year and out of campus housing for the rest. For the two ontario universities, both programs I applied for are co-op, so I'd be going to school half the time, and getting work experience the other half which sounds really appealing.

I've also gotten around $6,000 worth of scholarships to universities in general, and $4,000 for U of C specifically. So If I do go to the U of C I really won't have any financial problems, living at home and working I think I should be able to finish Univeristy without any student loans. The other two universities however, would be primarily done with student loans.

So basically what I'm trying to ask is: do you guys think going away to university on mostly student loans is worth it just for the program they offer? Also if you guys have any comments about the specific programs mentioned above, please feel free to drop off your 2 cents.

kaput
05-16-2006, 09:45 PM

Xtrema
05-16-2006, 10:40 PM
U Waterloo are the best math/computer science school in the country. Think of it as our version of MIT. A lot of big name tech firm recruit from there. If that's the direction you're going, you should give it a try.