PDA

View Full Version : Improve GPA - after graduation

PaleRider
05-26-2006, 09:51 AM
I graduated couple years ago with a BSc. After working these couple of years I am interested in taking masters in info security. However as the subject of this thread says my undergraduate GPA is low(quite low). During my undergrad I didn't really care about GPA and at that time just want to graduate ASAP - big mistake. What options do I have?

lint
05-26-2006, 09:55 AM
find out what the criteria for acceptance is, and also what course can be upgraded and how. I know that for most programs, when upgrading a course, you have to replace it with a higher level up. ie if you are upgrading an 200 level english course, you can only replace it with a 300 level, not another 200 level.

Also, you may not have to take the course at Univ. Some programs will also accept upgrade courses from pretty much anywhere, including Athabasca, etc, as long as it's an equivalent course.

topmade
05-26-2006, 09:56 AM
Correct me if I'm wrong, but I think you can re-take the courses you did bad on and try to get a higher grade to increase your GPA and if you do worse they just use the higher one. You will have to do this at the school you went to as well.

benyl
05-26-2006, 10:03 AM
Depending on the school you are going to do your masters at, your GPA may not matter. If you have work experience and good reference letters from reputable people that say you aren't a total idiot, you can pretty much get in anywhere.

Most graduate schools are desperate for students to keep their department a float. I would talk to the graduate office of the department and ask them specifically what you need to do.

I know many people who have gotten Master's degrees from very reputable universities that didn't even finish their undergrad. There is always a way to get in if they want you in.

RX_EVOLV
05-26-2006, 10:59 AM