PDA

View Full Version : used car inspection process

jaysas_63
05-28-2006, 02:01 AM
Hey guys,

I did a quick search but came up with nothing, so hopefully you guys can help a guy out.

I recently totaled my C230K, and am in the market for a new car. I am planning on buying used this time around. I have never done this before, and would like some pointers from the experienced beyond crowd.

Anyways, to the question: What are the areas that I should make sure are tested in the mechanical inspection, and how should they be tested? i.e. how would I insure that the car I’m buying isn't a lemon that I would have to drop huge amounts of cash into.

The car I’m planning on buying is very expensive to maintain to say the least, and don't want to get stuck with a money pit, so any advice would be greatly appreciated

gwild
05-28-2006, 08:00 PM
Get the VIN - do a Vehicle History Report from the local registry office (make sure it wasn't a salvage)

If report is clean, do a mechanical inspection

Check reviews on http://auto.consumerguide.com/Auto/used/

Rgds...Geoff

jaysas_63
05-28-2006, 11:23 PM
Originally posted by gwild
Get the VIN - do a Vehicle History Report from the local registry office (make sure it wasn't a salvage)

If report is clean, do a mechanical inspection

Check reviews on http://auto.consumerguide.com/Auto/used/

Rgds...Geoff

thanks, but i'm looking for more help on specific problem areas of the engine that i should have checked out for example the compression test.

come on ppl, throw me a bone!:thumbsup:

Oldskool
05-29-2006, 09:53 AM
I think that every car has its own problem areas.

You should do what I did, look for a car, and when you find one that you really like, do a whole bunch of research on what the common problems of that car are, and if you do run into these problems is the fix easy or what. All you need to do is google your question, theres a huge world of answers

gwild
05-29-2006, 02:56 PM