PDA

View Full Version : Am I getting played?

FivE.SeveN
05-28-2006, 11:17 PM
Hey all, I need advice! ;) I'm a devry grad (Oct 05) and I found this job like 3 days after I finished school. My diploma was in electronics but the job was doing CAD work for an electronics company... close enough right? ;) No problem, I knew some Autocad so they let me in. Starting $ seemed low (14/hr) but I figured it's cause 1) Im fresh out of school, 2) I dont *really* have autocad experience. It'll go up eventually, I tell myself..

Cool, so I do my thing for a few months, and then I get to move into the IT side of things. Much better, now I'm the network admin! Just what I was looking to do. They said they'd find me a replacement asap.

.... this was 3 months ago. I'm basically doing drafting, network admin, some electronic design (I built some gadgets that would help us build/test things in the factory faster), *and* documenting all of the above... for almost exactly the same pay I started at in Oct. (Got a little extra at the 3 month point). Monster says Network Admins average 52K per year. I think they're dragging their asses because they know I can do all of this -- and why pay more for another guy when this sucka can do both for cheap?

It really sucks that I went to school for this, only to get paid as much as I did serving tables. SO am I wrong in going up to the boss tmrw and 'discussing' this? In truth I hate being so damn broke all the time, feels like I did all that schoolwork for nothing right now.

Help y0! :dunno:

M_K_3
05-28-2006, 11:24 PM
hmm seems a little messed up maybe ask around at work, how much other people are getting paid, then maybe go talk to the boss....

h_s
05-28-2006, 11:53 PM
discuss it with your boss, since you are fresh outta school dont expect the big paydays right away

wildrice
05-29-2006, 12:10 AM
no offense, but can you count devry as a school?

FivE.SeveN
05-29-2006, 12:21 AM