PDA

View Full Version : 20" monitor options?

cosmok
06-15-2006, 11:58 PM
I've been looking at this Benq model, here, (http://www.memoryexpress.com/index.php?PageTag=&page=file&memx_menu=EmbedProductDetail.php&DisplayProductID=7671&SID=) for $344.95 before tax. Are they any other options or places to go in Calgary to check LCD's out (places like MemEx etc)? Any input is appriciated :thumbsup:

cosmok
06-16-2006, 12:03 AM
Found this one for $329.99 (http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/proddetail.asp?sku_id=0665000FS10072506&logon=&langid=EN), opinions?

FivE.SeveN
06-16-2006, 12:12 AM
Hey man, depends what you wanna use it for. Even modern LCD's arent immune to 'shadowing', unless they're nice and high-quality.

I have a 19" Samsung Syncmaster 940B and I love it. Easy on the eyes, no shadows even if I'm playing a game, and it takes up almost no desk space. ;)

Look for specs like refresh time (in ms), contrast, brightness, etc.

Refresh: faster is better, but they never tell you if the refresh is from Black to White, or gray to gray. (G2G is faster).

Contrast: You'll notice colours sometimes aren't as vibrant as on CRTs, and "black" is more like "really dark purple". CRTs still destroy LCDs for colour quality, which is why graphics people still prefer to use them even though they're obsolete.

Brightness: How bright it is.... duh. ;) Mine is 300 candelas/m2, and it's quite bright.

So knowing all this... find yourself a good one. ;)

cosmok
06-16-2006, 12:38 AM
Helpful tips, thanks. I have 2 already, just looking for a place to pick up a 20" widescreen model for my laptop.

FivE.SeveN
06-16-2006, 01:05 AM
Oh well SCREW YOU THEN I thought I was talking to a noob!

:D :D :D :D

Charon
06-16-2006, 01:39 AM
IMO: Benq is cheap. I go with Samsung, Viewsonic, or higher end Dell.
And that second one you posted. I have never heard of that brand name "Metro". I would not trust it unless you can find some reviews that put it on a pedistal.