PDA

View Full Version : minor pointers for those who never maintiance there cars

BiG_BoI_LuDe
06-24-2006, 03:14 AM
So I've been working at the shop now for about 3 years... and i have seen alot of things ppl don;t do that kill there money... I know theres alot of you that know what i'm about to say but this is for those that don't

One... the basics... Change your oil AT least every 5000K... and if you know you burn or have Vtec in your car ... check every gas tank... your oil should always be full...... number one engine killer is not checking your oil... especially on road trips... and you noticed the car runs smoother with full oil... especially hondas...
2.. if your auto tranny.. have it checked once a year... if your oil stinks then have it flushed... and not by Mr.lube.. there flushes don;t really get the shit out... you want someone that will.. drian the old fluided... add new fluid... run in Drive at normal operating temp for about 10-15 mins.. drain again and fill with new fluid...
I see alot of people that do not service there tranny and you will loose pickup from this... your car will also run alot smoother after you have this done...and it will save you gas...

2. tune up... if you have a 4Cyl... you can pretty much do it your self.. Air filter, spark plugs... cap and rotor if you have one...... the basics...

3. differential fluids... never chaged it?? get it done...

4.Tire pressure... check this at least once every 2 months and everytime you get gas do a quick lookaround see that there is no low pressure... if you run your tire and 20PSi for about 2-4 months.. you will notice that you have un even wear.. mainly the outter side of the tire... meaning the outter side will be bald while the rest of the tire is good... 20 psi on most tires isn't that noticeable... a tire gauge is like less then 5bucks.. 32PSi is what it should be at... doing this will save you money becuase even the cheapest tires will cost you at least $90 per wheel...