PDA

View Full Version : Design and Drafting Tech @ SAIT

RawB8figure
07-13-2006, 10:20 AM
anyone here completed this program.

What kind of posistions are you qualified for with this program.

Was this program worth it, in your opinion.

Thanks

HillBilly
07-13-2006, 10:27 AM
The market is starving for EDDT's right now.

2 years and your set. Go do it. I'll hire you.

88CRX
07-13-2006, 10:55 AM
Do a quick search… there was a big thread floating around maybe a month or so ago

kkoz
07-13-2006, 11:02 AM
Finished EDDT a few years ago, if its still the same your last simester choose oil & gas. structural and civil won't get you as good a paying job as choosing oil & gas. On that note most employers don't care wich one you toke as long as you got good grades

nj2Type-S
07-13-2006, 12:33 PM
i finished EDDT last semester and now i'm working for Bantrel. I got hired 2 weeks before i graduated so the market's really good right now. like kkoz said, don't go structural or civil if you like $ :D ...definitely get into piping. you can get anywhere from $17 - $23/hr start. you start off as a Junior Piping Draftsperson if you were to choose the piping option.

RawB8figure
07-13-2006, 02:09 PM
Ok so starting is not so great but what is the potential like for this type of posistion. thanks

nj2Type-S
07-13-2006, 04:06 PM
dood, you SHOULD get at least $20/hr start w/ most of the companies...i'd say that's a pretty good start for sitting on your ass and clicking away on the mouse....lol...

once you've got enough experience, you could try to go to desinging....that's where the $$$ is hehe..sorry im not much help, i just started like 2 1/2 months ago.

HillBilly
07-13-2006, 04:11 PM
Originally posted by nj2Type-S
dood, you SHOULD get at least $20/hr start w/ most of the companies...i'd say that's a pretty good start for sitting on your ass and clicking away on the mouse....lol...

I agree.... since right out of school, your pretty much useless for about a year anyway.