PDA

View Full Version : Haveing Trouble Finding a new career, what am i doing wrong (trades, or something)

Takemetoothemoo
07-28-2006, 01:35 PM
Why am I having trouble finding a new career? I have been looking off and on for the past 3 months. I have had a number of interviews all the jobs I have been offered where like 12 or 14/ hour. I am prepared to take a step back, but that is too far back.
I have been applying for mostly apprentice ship jobs and installers the odd computer job And Oil & Gas companys. i troll all the job websites and the papper then. I fax off my resume and cover letter.

I am very good with computers and have been a geek since I was a kid.
I also like building things and I am good with my hands

Work Background:
I am a hard worker.
1999 I was a landscaper for a summer, cutting concrete building walls..
I have been working at a warehouse for 7 years now as a receiver. I was a supervisor for a year in charge of around 60 people, doing performance reviews…. Then I decided to step down from supervision so I could go back to collage to gain a more rewarding career. I found that School was just not for me while working full time nights.

I am currently working afternoons and I need to go on day shift but due to the needs of the business they will not let me transfer do to staffing shortages

I just bought a townhouse I take possession on July 31. 2006, My GF wants to have my around so she can see me, for some reason..

Without flaming me I was hoping someone could let me know what is holding me back. I am thinking it is due to my history at my current job supervisor for a year, some collage courses.. Or Companies may prefer a new high school graduated then an old guy like me (26)

Also looking for tips and or leads :)

Thanks for your time reading my story

~Leah~
07-28-2006, 03:44 PM
I don't mean to flame.... but does your resume and cover letter contain the same number of spelling mistakes as this post??

Haveing is spelt HAVING