PDA

View Full Version : Finance or Accounting???

FlamingC19
08-30-2006, 02:41 PM
So Im currently in my second year of University and I am debating what I want to do for a living. Not sure whether I want to change my major from Finance to Accounting or what but I'm wondering what type of suggestions or help I can get from you guys. What are the top jobs from each major pros/cons and what would you guys choose??? Any insight would be great!!!

Thanks Scott

Mckenzie
08-30-2006, 03:10 PM
I went through that crisis also in second year and chose accounting. I now will be working for one of the big 4 firms and doing my CA. Here are a few things for you to consider.

Finance

Pros-

Can make big money in your first few years and from then on
Sexy
You learn a lot about current events and how they influence financial markets
Work can be very interesting

Cons-

Cocky co-workers, teachers and students who think they will rule the world with a finance degree....many hot-heads
Long exhausting hours and high stress in I. banking
Very few jobs compared to accounting
Good jobs are HIGHLY competitive
High stress interviews
You will be chained to excel....no doubt about it

Accounting

Pros-

So many great jobs upon graduation right now...more than there are students
Career path and income are predictable and stable in the first 10 years with a Big 4 firm
Job security ALWAYS there (accountants are first to light the candle and last to blow it out)
Accounting teachers, students and professionals are generally not hot-heads
Co-wokers are all around your age
Big 4 firms are usually top employers in the country year after year
A Canadian CA designation is the most highly regarded and respected accounting designation in the world (a professor who finished his CFA who is also a CA said the CFA was a bunny run compared to the CA program)
The UFE test is one of the most rigorous professional exams in the world
You will be employable ANYWHERE