PDA

View Full Version : Future Of A CMA?

Lee_8
09-02-2006, 11:43 AM
Just looking for some general advice. First off I’ll start off with my background and some general working conditions. I am a grad of the Bachelor of Applied International Business and Supply Chain Management program from Grant Macewan here in Edmonton. I’ve been working in a materials management division doing purchasing for about a year and half. The pay is good, but I don't see myself being able to progress that much. I just can't see myself being able to do that for the rest of my life.

I was wondering what the opportunities were like for a CMA. I plan to take an applied degree in accounting from Grant Macewan while I continue to work full time. I believe that Grant Macewan is pretty much the equivalent of Mount Royal in Calgary has any one taken their applied degree program in accounting there? The only difference I believe is that Grant Macewan does not allow one to be eligible to be a CA. This is why I am solely inquiring about the future of a CMA. Any input would be helpful. Thank you.

Shaolin
09-02-2006, 01:42 PM
I know quite a few CMAs. Some are in IT, finance, accounting, marketing. You can't go wrong with a CMA. Take the prep course before you write the entrance exam though.

Lee_8
09-05-2006, 03:21 PM
Does anyone have a rough estimate of what the salary is like for a CMA?

Auditor
09-05-2006, 04:39 PM
Depends on what your experience is and where you are working.

FishPoo
09-05-2006, 05:38 PM
https://secure.cma-alberta.com/Hire_A_CMA/Salary_Survey.asp

That's from 2003, you can expect that the rate will be significantly higher in 2006 with the labour shortages and O&G boom.

And yes, it still depends on experience, area/industry you're in, and who you are.

Mar
09-05-2006, 06:21 PM
I read the title and thought you were a singer. (Contemporary Music Award).

Lee_8
09-06-2006, 03:04 PM