PDA

View Full Version : BAd Fuel

civiclx98
09-28-2006, 03:43 PM
Hey, how's everyone? I'm new to this.

So I have a 1998 Honda Civic Lx (d16y7 motor). It's a 5 speed. I'm not into tuning, especially not this car LOL But it's solid, reliable, and I do like it.

I am having a problem. The car is exhibiting a number of issues with regard to acceleration.

Unless I'm at a very high rpm I cannot fully depress the gas pedal, or the engine bogs and it takes forever to accelerate. I find this happens in all gears. Again, this only happens when I'm not at a very high rpm. On the flip side, when I am at a high rpm, the car still feels sluggish, and at times it feels as though the engine is being momentarily shut off (almost as though it were choking or sputtering). But it's a very slight instant.

Also, a bad odour of unburnt gasoline; an example would be pushing it - bringing it between 5000 - 6000 rpm in second and third, which I do rarely, when I upshift I get a bad odour of raw gasoline in the car.

As an aside, lately I've noticed that the car is making an odd sound, almost as though there's some kind of hole or leak in an air tube? If you've ever heard the air exhaust of an electric air-compressor, you'd know the sound I'm referring to. It's a put-put-put sound, only very, very fast, and not particularly loud. It seems to be coming from the engine compartment.

Since I've had the car I've changed the oil regularly at 3000 - 5000 km intervals, with a full synthetic. I bought the car with 126,000 on the odometer, and it now has 150. I've noticed, in the last 24,000 km the above issues have either been greatly exaggerated, or have made themselves apparent.

My personal opinion is that it's an issue with fuel delivery, but I'm thinking there may also be poor spark, or missfiring. Any ideas?

SILVIA.K
09-28-2006, 03:48 PM
IT can be your timing.:thumbsup:

slammed_cb7
09-28-2006, 03:51 PM