PDA

View Full Version : winter storage question

sh0ko
10-14-2006, 01:12 PM
sop its my first time ever storing a car for the winter and so far.. this is what i know

place the car sitting on cardboard (been told tihs)
full tank of gas
fill up my tires (anybody know how much nexen n3000 tires should be filled to?!)
disconnect bttery
cover it

do i need anti freeze in the lines or anything?!

KenP
10-14-2006, 01:16 PM
Eek, don't store your car with a full tank a gas it will get skunky.

sh0ko
10-14-2006, 01:18 PM
really?! y?!

barbarian
10-14-2006, 01:39 PM
Use fuel stabilizer in the gas.

KenP
10-14-2006, 01:47 PM
Something to do with the chemical make up of gas, it won't last forever. So yes use a stabalizer *never used one my self* or just park your car with no gas in it and bring a some when it's time to wake the beast.

GT-R rated
10-14-2006, 01:49 PM
i've always been told to put a full tank of gas with fuel stabalizer in it, otherwise you have room for condensation to build up in your gas tank, your tire pressures should be marked on the sidewalls, i'd recomend going about 5 psi over the rating to avoid flat spots.

andres_mt
10-14-2006, 01:55 PM
Use gas line antifreeze! You can get a cheap 6-pack of bottles at C-Tire and you put one in your tank run it for a bit every couple of weeks in winter...small price to pay to make sure your fuel lines don't crack or warp if they're old.

Mr.Buffy
10-14-2006, 02:19 PM
This is what I did when I stored my old ITR:

Store it with a full tank of gas + fuel stabilizer.

Wash inside and out.

Changed engine oil.

Put a towel between the wiper and windshield.

Covered up the exhaust opening with a towel.

Parked in neutral, handbrake off, blocks behind a rear tire.

Removed the battery and stored it in my basement.

Put some lubricant on the seals to the doors, hinges, etc.