PDA

View Full Version : 2003 deville or 1997 S/E 420 mercedes?

Demari
10-20-2006, 09:41 PM
i'm a student so i only have around 15 or 16 thousand canadian to spend and i don't know alot about cars at all, and my best choices seem to be a 2003ish deville or a 1997ish E or S class 420, maybe S 500..
do you guys think its better to get a newer car such as the deville or would the older mercedes be better?
thanks alot

infected
10-20-2006, 09:55 PM
Be prepared to pay the repair bills if you go with the S500, it wont be cheap.

pepschnops
10-20-2006, 10:01 PM
Don't in any way want to change the direction your going but it kinda sounds like you want to get a sedan. And either domestic or European. The old body style mercedes run like a champion until you get a problem and then repairs tend to be very expensive. However I haven't heard of a high number of problems with the old body s-classes. If you want a cheaper luxury car to get just look into a Lincoln LS. Much more economical than both these cars and like both the mercedes and the deville rides very smooth. These were good cars that never sold well. Whats the point in spending all your money on a car when you don't have to. Just a personal opinion. best of luck

NGRPLZ.NET
10-21-2006, 01:36 AM
I like those old mobster benzez. I would go with one of those over the cadillac. Apparently those are the best engineered cars to this day?

dieselpower91
10-21-2006, 02:01 AM
I would pick up a Deville DTS or DHS. But I am partial to GM's. The Northstar is a pretty good motor. Relatively cheap to fix. Very nice features for the money. I have been debating selling my GTP and picking up a newer DTS.

Demari
10-21-2006, 07:10 AM
are the E class mercedes better than the S? people tell me the S is better... but the 97'ish E classes look alot newer than the S classes, especially with the haedlights

also.. does anyone know about jaguars? i saw a few 2000ish s-types and a XJ8.. are they reliable cars?

ZorroAMG
10-21-2006, 07:11 PM