PDA

View Full Version : best car/ truck for long drives

ole dsm
10-21-2006, 02:53 PM
I'm thinking about getting a new car or truck.

I'm a contractor in the patch, and every month i will be driveing about 3,000km's(Vancouver island to Edmonton). so i'm looking for something reliable and could be driven year round and gets decent gas milage., but most importantly it must be comfy.

as well the 3,000km's will be 99% on highway pavement.

was thinking :

dodge cummins crew cab

ford f350 power stroke crew cab

chevy duramax crew cab

or the honda ridgeline ( best creature comforts)

any opinions or idea's

Thanks

FiveFreshFish
10-21-2006, 03:15 PM
- Get a car or small SUV if you don't need to haul equipment. However, a truck is important if you need to present a certain image to your client.

- Diesel for best fuel economy.

- Stereo should be capable of iPod input and/or satellite radio.

- Navigation system if you aren't good with maps and have to travel to new locations frequently.

mo_money2supe
10-21-2006, 04:03 PM
I personally have never ridden in a Ridgeline, but I'd say out of the big 3 trucks, Dodge Ram's usually have the softest suspension, so if you're looking for the comfy ride, go with them. I personally prefer Chevy's though 'cause their taught (sp?) ride makes the truck feel like it's more in control over bumps, as long as your spleen can handle it.

Oh, and btw, as much of a Honda fan that I am, showing up on the patch with a Ridgeline would probably get a few chuckles from the guys. :(

Mitsu3000gt
10-21-2006, 05:59 PM