PDA

View Full Version : The Wonderful World of DSM's

ogpog
10-26-2006, 03:35 PM
I have a general question, aimed more towards the DSM community.

Im just an average college student who needs a new toy. I had a Jeep that i basically brought back to life, and turned into a wonderful off-roader, but sold it as interests changed. Back to speed I go. I bought out my 2006 Civic at the beginning of this year, but to be honest, people have been telling me it would just cost too much to make it decently fast. But regardless i threw some Eibach Sportline springs under it to just make it a bit more aggressive.

I have always been envious of the DSM guys, and all of the things they learn, and can do, and how fast they can get them to go. I was simply considering picking up one before the winter and using it as a new project. I would keep my civic as my daily driver, and just simply work on the Talon, or Laser as an interesting experience/project to go out and have some fun with.

Am I completely out to lunch? I mean, i dont know the first thing about Turbo's (All my vehicles have been N/A). I can rip apart a motor no problem, and put it back together with my eyes closed, but I consistantly hear other owners talking about how problematic they are.

I also was wondering what is a good price point to start at. Ive heard people saying you can get something decent for five grand, and others saying look for ones going for 10k +. Any Input is appreciated.

Crymson
10-26-2006, 04:52 PM
Sorry, to butt in for a quick question, i've gathered that a DSM is a talon/eclipse, but what does it stand for? Is just an idenifier on the VIN?

jav_
10-26-2006, 05:00 PM
Diamond Star Motors

Lo)2enz0
10-26-2006, 05:01 PM
you have mixed 2 terms together that don't belong with each other

dsm+college student

i thought it was a wee bit funny

ogpog
10-26-2006, 05:18 PM
Originally posted by Lo)2enz0
you have mixed 2 terms together that don't belong with each other

dsm+college student