PDA

View Full Version : Do you guys have any good article about winter driving to recommend?

sowen
10-30-2006, 03:50 PM
I am a newbie of driving, absolutely has only limited knowledge about vehicle. What shall I do in winter? (since it starts snowing all day here)

I have many naive questions, such as

1. My car is a new one with all season tires, and it's awd, do I need winter tires?
2. Besides -40 window washer fluid and snow brusher, what else do I need in winter? (if only in city)
3. what's that anti-freeze engine oil used for? do I need it or should I go to my dealer to install it?
4. other questions... not sure what I shall ask :D I am stupid.

Any recommendation is really appreciated.

rusich
10-30-2006, 08:16 PM
1. Definatelly yes to winter tires ( espesially since you are a new driver). It's one of those big things that will help you out in winter driving.
2. A pair of warm mittons and a winter hat, while brushing that show off your car.
3. Not really needed. Just plug your engine heater when it drops below -20C and stick to manufacturer's maitenace schedule.
4. Exercise caushion during winter and you should be fine.

P.S. Also, almost forgot, check your washer fluid regularly and top it up. It usually runs out when you need it the most.

whiskas
10-30-2006, 08:45 PM
If cost is a factor all seasons aren't too bad for a first year driver. If you're confident in your skills, and know how to counter steer you should be OK. I survived my first year of driving during winter with bald all seasons, no ABS, no traction control on a FWD car. Admittedly I did have some "oh shit" moments but I got through them without problems.

Your car probably has ABS and traction control and since it has 4WD I would say stick with all seasons tires unless you're going to be frequently going on roads that aren't salted/sanded or infrequently travelled on.

If you keep your car outside invest in a good snow brush.

dino_martini
10-30-2006, 10:18 PM