PDA

View Full Version : Total Newbie, just got first camera

Crymson
11-17-2006, 04:13 PM
Hi Ladies and Gents!

Just got my frist DSLR, a Nikon D50, with the basic 18-55mm lense, got delivered this afternoon.

Was wondering what all of your first experiences/frustrations with photography as a hobby was? What were the frist things you did that impressed you? Any Tips and Tricks that a took you a long time to learn that you'd wished someone had told you the frist day?

-Tim

BerserkerCatSplat
11-17-2006, 04:17 PM
Read the manual.

Read it again.

I cannot stress how important the manual is. Even better, when you've done that, get your hands on Thom Hogan's Guide to the Nikon D50, which is an excellent e-book.

Crymson
11-17-2006, 04:30 PM
GREAT! I found a torrent for that book, will download and go over it this weekend.

BerserkerCatSplat
11-17-2006, 04:34 PM
..I would urge you to actually buy the thing. It's only $30, and Thom is a guy I'd like to see supported for the amount of effort he puts into those books.

But hey, your call.

http://www.bythom.com/d50guide.htm

msommers
11-17-2006, 04:35 PM
would this book be very similair to the Nikon D70? I'm getting all these ideas in my head about what the picture will look like and then only to be disappointed because I can't operate the camera to know exactly what needs to be dialed in and such.

BerserkerCatSplat
11-17-2006, 04:42 PM
Thom has a book for each of the Nikon DSLR's - the D70/D70s is now in its second edition:

http://www.bythom.com/d70guide.htm

Crymson
11-17-2006, 04:43 PM
I'd love to buy it, but if i'm buying a book on photography, i want it printed on highgloss paper, and would glady pay for it at a Bookstore, otherwize, it way as well have been a website.

Or even if I could download it, i'd pay a few bucks, but i'm not super interested in waiting for CD.

canadianx
11-17-2006, 06:45 PM
Originally posted by BerserkerCatSplat
Read the manual.

Read it again.

I cannot stress how important the manual is.