PDA

View Full Version : Back Muscle

JWL
11-21-2006, 09:57 AM
I've been having a hard time building back muscle. I've used the machines and free weights, but it doesn't seem like nothing is working. I've been doing bent over rows, used the cables, etc. I'm not too sure what I'm doing wrong. I've generally been eating pretty healthy. Do you guys have any tips?

jcrules99
11-21-2006, 10:03 AM
how long have you been working out for?

how often do you work out your back?

how much weight are you doing?

JWL
11-21-2006, 12:47 PM
I've been working on and off for about 2 years.

I do my back at least 2x a week.

With free weights I've been doing 10-15lbs (20lbs if I feel strong enough and less reps). With cables I've been using between 60-75lbs depending on the exercise.

I have to make note to you guys that I'm a girl.... maybe it's not in my genes.:dunno:

ixlr8
11-21-2006, 02:15 PM
Lower to Mid Back; Deadlifts Deadlifts Deadlifts!

Mid To Upper Back; Rack pulls from knee or above, Pull Ups, Chin Ups.

Don't let being a girl limit you at all!

JWL
11-21-2006, 02:50 PM
Thanks for the tips!

My goal is to do chin ups (close grip) by early next year... I'm halfway there! :D

2.4l
11-21-2006, 11:07 PM
Originally posted by ixlr8
Lower to Mid Back; Deadlifts Deadlifts Deadlifts!

Mid To Upper Back; Rack pulls from knee or above, Pull Ups, Chin Ups.

Don't let being a girl limit you at all!
great advice.. :thumbsup:
for latpulldowns and rows use LIGHT weight, for deadlifts use HEAVY..
its easy for anyone to stack the latpulldown/row machines , but youll put twice the muscle on your back if you go slow and flex/squeeze your shoulderblades together for pulldowns,
since you cant do a chinup yet, use the assited chinup machine, and really flex and hold on the top for back muscle, lower yourself down really slow!

and since your a girl, just letting you know that defined back muscle on girls is SOOO hot. just dont get bulky.. keep working hard!

ricefarmer
11-21-2006, 11:15 PM