PDA

View Full Version : Pentax K10D

Mitsu3000gt
11-23-2006, 12:20 PM
Does anyone know much about this camera? I was all ready to pull the trigger on the Nikon D80 with either the 18-135 or the 18-200vr (if I could find one) and then I started reading the pentax forum on dpreview, where someone asked which is better between the D80 and K10D. Granted it was on the Pentax forum, almost everyone said the Pantax was better. Apparently Pentax does not have the lens selection of nikon, but others suggested the Pentax has a better AF system in addition to dust removal and image stabilization in the camera. Also, the Pentax is dust/weather sealed and magnesium.

I am by no means a professional, and I would never take my camera out in the rain no matter what it was. Image stabilization is nice because I will be taking some pictures from a boat but I can get IS in the lens.....is lens IS or camera IS better? I only pla n to buy 2 or 3 lenses total - an all purpose like the 18-200, a macro and perhaps a smaller range like 18-70 but high quality.

Has anyone here had the same dillema? Opinions on the two would be greatly appreciated as well. I can't find any reviews that compare image quality between the Nikon and Pentax. Unfortunately the Pentax isn't in Calgary yet so I can't go hold them, but everyone seems to think the Pentax is a very solid, comfortable camera and it is heavier than the D80.

Pihsiak
11-23-2006, 12:38 PM
Nikon and Canon have Optical Image Stabilizers. This means that if your hand shakes, the lens will shift the glass elements back in place.

Minolta (aka Sony) and Pentex have gone with Sensor Image Stabilizer. Same story except when your hands shake, the senor in the body is moved back in place.

In theory, this is a better method because with OIS, the feature is only avalible if the lens has it making that particualr lens more expensive. Where as with SIS, any lens to attached to the body would have IS capability.

In actuallity, SIS sucks.

Mitsu3000gt