PDA

View Full Version : I'm a newbie on computers

harley11
12-02-2006, 10:23 PM
I need to know some stuff about computers as i know nothing about them but im thinking of buying a new one because:

A. my computer is slow (i think) when 4 pages are open and downloading it takes forever for another window to open....thats slow right?

B. I take alot of pictures and videos with the digital camera and high dev camcorder and need somewhere to store all of them.

I need to know isn't it worth buying a new computer or just updating mine to 2007 spec? I dont even have dvd burner which i want...ohh and i have 17inch lcd and i want 20inch so right off the bat its cheaper to buy new right?

Here's my real questions:

How do i check really what i have on this computer/ storage/ speed/ blah blah blah???????????

what is the speed of a computer called?

computer storage called?

Im looking for a computer that can handle anything i throw at it...have 10 windows open downloading music and downloading movies from the camcorder. To give you guys a clue i take about 15 videos a month and over 1000 pictures a month that i need on the computer. I want them on there forever....lol...i do so many roadtrips and would like to have them at my finger tips....

Iam using pisca2 (google software advanced) and im right out of room...which is 25000 pictures in 2 years

Someone just pm'd me trying to sell me ram" ummm

system properties: AMD ATHLON (TM) XP 2500+ 1.86GHZ, 240MB OF RAM.....What the hell does this all mean??? where can i check to see how much im using? Ive just deleted a whole pile of pictures...

viperous
12-02-2006, 10:47 PM
240MB of ram...oh geez...no wonder why it's slow.

harley11
12-03-2006, 12:11 PM
Originally posted by viperous
240MB of ram...oh geez...no wonder why it's slow.

Okay so its the ram that makes it slow...umm okay

Mibz
12-03-2006, 12:20 PM