PDA

View Full Version : Any Pianist on Beyond?

kenc
01-11-2007, 01:14 AM
I'm a pianist myself and plan to find a nice place to play a song I wrote for my GF on our anniversery.

Now the problem is that I don't have a grand piano myself, and booking a renue / stage will be too much of a budget. (starting from $1000's!!)

Any body knows if there are any grand pianos that are up for free playing for the public?

For example I know:

At the U of C, Scurfield Hall building, 2nd floor. There's a grand piano, unlocked, and at night when there are no students studying around there you can play all you want.

At the Peter Laugheed Center (hospital) there's a Grand Piano near the West Entrance, and it is also up for free play for the public.

I was hoping for a better environment (may be more romantic?)

Would also go to nice restaurants with piano, and see if they'd let me play a song or two after dinner or something.

Any ideas?

Ken

suen17
01-11-2007, 01:53 AM
Spend a night at Lake Louise Chateau! They got a few pianos lying around. In their conference center there's a 9ft grand if i'm not mistaken; the clerks would probably be happy to let you play for free too, as long as there's no function happening that night. Caution though, it's out of tune =P

EDIT: there's also a piano right outside their lobby lounge/restaurant area.

msommers
01-11-2007, 02:14 AM
Used to be involved with piano, grade 2 actually. but rock eventually took over my life and consequently, guitar is my new thing to do. Less serious which is really nice. Good luck in your search, women melt for songs played for them, good or bad. Some bullshit about honest effort or caring:D :dunno:

kenc
01-11-2007, 02:31 AM
The date is this Saturday and we don't have time for a get away :( I called all major hotels in calgary and only found a few that HAVE a grand piano:

Radisson (16ave 19st NE): Grand in the lobby, any guests can play (I can pretend to be a guest. haha)